top of page

Beverly's Story - Finding me

Is it Ok to feel relief when you look into the eyes of your mother as she has just passed? The first words in my head were "Finally I'm free." I was 62. In my twenties, I ran from her bigotry, judgement, disdain and headed out west. My car broke down in the desert north of Phoenix, Arizona and I found a temporary home on an Arabian horse ranch. As soon as I got a job I moved into the city. One beautiful day I saw him walking toward his apartment. 6'2", eyes of blue, cowboy in all his youth and glory. I felt struck by lightning. I married this cowboy but the story isn't one of happily ever after. Seven years later I brought my baby daughter back to the place that had given me nightmares for years. My mother's house. I never stopped trying to be what I thought others wanted me to be. Depression, a shrink, meds, until I finally, for whatever marked that day, had had enough. I worked hard at finding the "me" inside and I did. The day my mother died I found myself. I left the stream of bad dates, sold her house, and moved to northern Michigan. The headaches slowly left. The "foggy brain" cleared and I found joy. There are endless stories about what brought me here. Only some wine and a campfire could get me to reveal all of them. I owe no one an apology now.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page